01122021 fornews

81st Annual Conference of Indian Society of Agricultural Economics Inaugurated at SMVDU

01122021 fornews

01122021 300wThe 81st Annual Conference of the Indian Society of Agricultural Economics, being organized by Faculty of Management, SMVDU with NABARD & ICSSR, was inaugurated today at SMVD University. This year the themes were the impact of Covid pandemic and farmers’ protest on agriculture, nutritional security and agri-entrepreneurship and innovations.The Chief Guest, Professor Yoginder K. Alagh, Chancellor, Central University of Gujarat, insisted on the theory generation in the context of farming. Padma Shri (Prof.) RK Sinha, Vice-Chancellor, SMVD University discussed the agricultural contribution to the economy during the COVID-19 era. Dr C.L. Dadhich, Secretary, ISAE, talked about the genesis of the Indian Society of Agricultural Economics for the research and teaching in agricultural economics. Prof. Abhijit Sen, President, ISAE, and Niti Ayog discussed the negative impact of COVID-19 on the agriculture sector and its performance.

Dr AK Sood, CGM, NABARD, Guest of Honor, highlighted their importance for the sustainable development and agriculture rural sector. Conference President, Dr. Madhura Swaminathan, Professor, Economic Analysis Unit, Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore talked about the challenges faced by agrarian India. The keynote address on Covid and the agricultural and rural economy delivered by Dr. R. Ramakumar, Professor, TISS, Mumbai; Prof. CP Chandrasekhar (Retd. Prof.) Jawahar Lal University delivered keynote speaker on the theme agricultural reforms and farmers’ protests; Dr. K. R. Ashok, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, delivered his keynote speech on the linkage of agriculture and nutrition and Prof. JP Sharma, Vice Chancellor, SKUAST-Jammu gave his keynote speech on the role of agri-business entrepreneurship, innovation and value chains/networks in farmer income improvement.

Previously, Dr. Supran Sharma, Dean, Faculty of Management; SMVDU Dr. Ashutosh Vashishtha, Convener and Dr. Saurabh, Head School of Business, SMVDU and local Organizing Secretary, Meenakshi Gupta, welcomed dignitaries and participants. The ISAE announced the ISAE Awards and ISAE Fellow Award for the best book on agricultural economics, published by Indian authors to Dr Shashi R. Sen for his book “Land acquisition and resource development in contemporary India”. The dignitaries included Prof. Judith Heyer, Oxford; Prof. Surjit Vikraman, NIRDPR, Hyderabad, Dr. Mekhala Krishnamurthy, Ashoka University, Dr. Niti Mehta, SPIESR, Ahmadabad, Dr. Sukhpal Singh, IIM-Ahmedabad and other eminent researchers and practitioners.



, ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *