03112017 NationalConf

National Conference on Plant Sciences inaugurated at SMVDU

03112017 NationalConf

SMVDU Katra, Nov 2: A three-day National Conference on “Interdisciplinary Aspects of Plant Sciences” and 27th APSI Scientist Meet, organized by School of Biotechnology, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University Katra in collaboration with Academy of Plant Sciences, India was inaugurated on 2nd Nov. 2017. Chief Patron of the conference Dr. Sanjeev Jain, Vice Chancellor SMVDU and Convener of the event Professor V. Verma, Head School of Biotechnology and Dean Faculty of Engineering were the motivating face behind the organization of the event which is the first of its kind to be organized by APSI, JAMMU. In his welcome address, Professor V. K. Bhat, Registrar, dwelt on the aims and objectives of organizing this Conference and congratulated the Department of Biotechnology for organizing this conference and hosting 27th APSI Scientist Meet and stressed the need for adoption of interdisciplinary approaches for solving complex societal problems. Dr. Sharda M. Potukuchi, Associate Professor, School of Biotechnology and Organizing Secretary of the conference presented the theme of the conference and briefed about the various technical sessions of the conference.

Referring to the theme of the Conference, the Chief Guest Prof. Anju Basin, Vice Chancellor, Cluster University of Jammu exuded confidence that this scientific event of great significance, which has brought together academicians, eminent scientist, Research Scholars and students in the field of Plant Sciences on a single platform, would facilitate the exchange of knowledge, experiences, fresh approaches and new ideas. The conference theme especially its interdisciplinary aspects will definitely provide a dignified opportunity and platform to budding students and young researchers for up-casing their research work in varied field of Plant science. She anticipated that cluster University Jammu and SMVDU will explore the avenues for possible collaboration and participate to exchange research and other innovative idea to make this State of J&K a hub of knowledge at national and international level.

Guest of Honor Prof. Manoj K. Dhar, University of Jammu, highlighted the challenges being faced by the humanity in particular due to depleting plant resources, climate change, and how it has influenced in availability of natural fuels and resources. He stressed for another green revolution for increasing biomass, novel genetic resources, gene technologies, automated sequencing of plants varieties at early stages to move ahead. Prof. S.K. Gupta, Secretary and Dr. S. A. Salgare, Vice President, APSI spoke about the activities being conducted by Academy of Plant Sciences in last three decades. At the Annual Event of APSI, the Academy presented citations to Prof. V. K. Bhat, Registrar and, SMVDU and Prof. V. Verma, Dean Faculty of Engineering with APSI Honours. APSI Fellowship Awards were granted to Dr. Sharad Bissa, JNV University Jodhpur; Dr. Adarsh Pandey, Shahjanpur and Dr. Alok Kumar Singh, Jaunpur. APSI Certificates of Excellence were presented to Ms. Anuja Koul, SMVDU and Deepak Kumar, Central University of Jammu. Various awards for APSI International Plant Scientists Award 2017 were given to Dr. P. Giridhar, CFTRI, Mysuru; APSI Honours Awards 2017 to Dr. Suhaib A. Bandh, Cluster University, Srinagar; APSI Smt. Rama Devi Award 2017 to Dr. Vikas Srivastava, Central University of Jammu; APSI Mirat Madhav Life Time Achievement Award 2017 to Dr. Mehak Gupta, SKUAST Jammu; APSI Maganbhai H. Patel Women Scientist Award 2017 to Prof. K. Ammani, Acharya Nagarjuna University; APSI Silver Jubilee Award 2017 to Dr. Harshadha Purohit, Jodhpur; APSI Salgare National Award 2017 to Dr. Praveen Gehlot, JNV University Jodhpur; APSI Smt. Kamla Devi And Shri Ram Lal Dhiman Award 2017 to Dr. Sonal Mishra, University of Jammu; APSI Young Scientist Award 2017 to Dr. Ruchika Sharma, Maulana Azad University, Jodhpur; APSI Last Conference Organizing Award to Dr. Avinash Bohra, Jodhpur and APSI Conference Organizing Secretary Award 2017 to Dr. Sharada M. Potukuchi, SMVDU. At the end Dr. Ratna Chandra Co-organizing Secretary presented a vote of thanks.



, ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *