13122021 Picture1

SMVDU Hosts International Tribology Research Symposium ITRS 2021

13122021 Picture1

A three day long virtual international Tribology Research Symposium on “Tribology for Sustainability & Reliability” was organized by the School of Mechanical Engineering, SMVD University from 08-10 Dec. 2021. The inaugural function was presided over by Prof. R. K. Sinha, Vice-Chancellor, SMVDU, in which he laid emphasis on undertaking research relevant to local needs and of global standards. The other guests from the collaborator’s institutions who spoke on the occasion were: Prof. Salmiah Kasolang, Rektor, Universiti Teknologi Mara (President, Malaysian Tribology Society), Prof. Ali Erdemir (Texas A&M University), Prof. Harish Hirani (Director, CSIR-CMERI Durgapur), Prof. Karanam Uma Maheshwar Rao (Director, National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal), Prof. M K Dutta Director, Centre for Advanced Studies AKTU.

The symposium hosted 03 Plenary lectures, 08 keynote lectures, 20 invited talks and 26 parallel sessions in which around 250 papers shall be presented. The event was featured by the eminent global tribology societies such as the World Tribology Council, Malaysian Tribology Society, Japanese Society of tribology, UK Tribology Society, International Tribology Council and German Tribology Society.Prominent international speakers who shared their research experiences with the participants, including Prof. Alessandro Ruggiero, UNISA, GAIT (AIMETA) National Coordinator, Prof. Jean Michel Martin, University of Lyon, LTDS, Ecole Centrale de Lyon, Prof. Bharat Bhushan, Ohio University, Ohio, USA, Prof. Dr. Hakan KALELİ, Yildiz Teknik Universitesi, Makine Fakultesi, Turkey, Prof. Michael Khonsari, Louisiana State University, Louisiana, Prof. Ashlie Martini, University of California, Merced, Prof. Zulfiqar A Khan, Bournemouth University, UK, Dr. Ben Beake, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK, Prof. Carsten Gachot, Vienna University of Technology, Austria, Prof Andreas Almqvist, Luleå University of Technology, Sweden, Dr. O P Khatri, CSIR-IIP Dehradun and Prof. M F Wani, NIT Srinagar to mention a few.

The event also hosted an Industrial Meet wherein the sponsors such as Apar Industries, Expert Vision labs, Biovis, etc. showcased their technologies to the global audience. The Dean Faculty of Engineering, Prof. Muthuswamy, lauded the efforts put in by the organizers to arrange such an event at the international level in the pandemic times. The organizing committee expressed their gratitude to all the collaborating institutes for their support.Dr. Jitendra Kumar Katiyar, SRMIST, Dr. Ranjeet Kumar Sahu and Dr. P S Suvin, from NITK, Dr. Anuj Kumar Sharma, CAS AKTU , Dr. Mir Irfan Ul Haq (SMVDU) and Dr. Ankush Raina from SMVDU, Prof. TVVLN Rao, MITS and Ir. Ts. Dr. Mohd Ali Ahmad, Universiti Teknologi MARA were the conveners of the event. Dr. Ankush Anand(SMVDU), Dr. Sanjay Mohan Sharma (SMVDU) were the organizing secretaries.



, ,




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *